Learning by Watching: Take Two

To prepare myself into making sushi for the first time I viewed a few videos.  Most were helpful to me.  The first was this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPMaid87Es0 which helped to show me the ingredients.  However, the full sushi experience to me was rolling the sushi into rolls so this was not the full experience I was looking for.   The second video accurately displays how I thought the sushi making would go for me.  The video,  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Mm_5Z__TjQ, was entertaining and I now know what not to do to make sushi through viewing.   The one I found to be the most helpful was the video http://allrecipes.com/video/303/how-to-make-sushi-rolls/detail.aspx.  This was what I needed to see to get started.

My first attempt at making sushi was hard due to getting the rice to be the correct consistency of stickiness.  Normally I would have asked a store clerk when buying the ingredients or google how to make the right consistency, but part of this assignment was just to use YouTube or help forums.  Therefore, I just selected a rice that said sushi on it.  After making the rice, I realized it was not sticky.  Luckily, I found a help forum that mentioned adding sugar and vinegar and I actually had those ingredients in my house.  Although my sushi turned out alright, I knew it was not what I wanted it to be yet and I am building up to trying it with brown rice.  I have now dedicated one night a week to trying to make new sushi.  My first creation was a simple cucumber, cream cheese and imitation crab roll and I o used the method on the video where the nori is on the outside of the roll.  My second roll had nori inside the roll as well as shrimp, avocado, cucumber, onion and cream cheese.  What I learned during the second roll is that I need to make the ingredients smaller when I had so many.  The roll would not seal correctly, but at least it tasted good. 

In my next blog post, I will have attempted to make sushi with brown rice as well as mastered the maximum limit of what a sushi roll can have inside.  My husband wants me to attempt a reverse roll which would contain raw fish on the outside, but I will save that for another day. 

Leave a Reply

