Problem of Practice

Paste a Video URL

I have identified a problem of practice as being students having difficulty remembering information. A possible solution would be to allow them to be creative and make a comic strip that they would remember. Using the tool makebeliefscomix.com, students will be able to show what they know in a comic strip and create a scenario that follows the guidelines of either inductive or deductive reasoning.

In the past, I let students create a cartoon video with text to speech using Xtranormal.com for this lesson and they absolutely loved it. That site is not working so I needed to find something else. You can also see that this type of tool could be used in any classroom and have multiple different purposes. I hope you can find a way to add this wonderful tool to your own classroom.

Although I tried embedding my video, wordpress kept saying that it was fetching the video. The link is below.

http://screencast.com/t/PLQc7KT9HfyB

One thought on “Problem of Practice

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this website! I am already thinking of ways I can use it in class. My students have trouble remembering as well and I have tried different ways to help them remember Algebra. I have used Xtranormal before, and they loved it. I am sure students would love creating their own comics as well. I have never thought of using comics with math, but it would definitely benefit and allow them to show creativity. I know I would have some students who would ask to create/draw their own comic which would be great too! This would be a great activity for review before an assessment. Students could share their comics with each other to help review concepts. I am so excited to try this in my class, I think I might use it next week! Awesome tool!

Leave a Reply

